The human lifespan

Cailin Pearce
Flowchart by , created 4 months ago

The human lifespan stages and milestones

Cailin Pearce
Created by Cailin Pearce 4 months ago
A2 Health Psychology Studies
First Aid
Reuben Caruana
First Aid
Jess Billitz
Latin vocabulary stage 1- stage 16
GCSE Science - B1 - You and Your Genes - Genes, Chromosomes and DNA
Health and social care Unit 1 Quiz
Holly Bamford
Food Technology- Nutrition
Chapter 8 Notes
health and diet

Flowchart nodes

  • Prenatal (From fertilisation until birth)
  • Infancy (From birth until age 2)
  • Early childhood (From age 2 until age 6)
  • Late childhood (From age 6 to age 12)
  • Youth (From age 12 to age 18)
  • Early adulthood (From age 18 to age 40)
  • Middle adulthood (From age 40 to age 65)
  • Late adulthood (From age 65 until death)
  • Development of the body's organs and structures, and substantial growth.
  • Development of motor skills and ability to walk, use simple words, identify familiar people, throw tantrums, and play social games. 
  • Slow and steady growth and the accomplishment of new skills such as social skills, being toilet trained, and making friends. 
  • Slow and steady growth - changes such as refining reading and writing skills, developing long term memory, understanding gender stereotypes, and refining motor skills. 
  • Rapid growth, increased independance, sexual maturity, the ability to reproduce, more complex relationships, development of life goals.
  • The body reaches it's physical peak and then declines, time of maintenance and repair, changes may come with marriage and/or children. 
  • Stability in work and relationships, the further development of identity, maturation of values and beliefs, financial security, physical signs of aging and menopause for women. May become grandparents.
  • Change in lifestyle with retirement and financial security, likely more participation in voluntary work and in leisure activities, the decline of health and wellbeing.