Australian Parliamentary System

Mind Map by Mizzi, updated more than 1 year ago
Created by Mizzi over 6 years ago


VCE Legal Studies Mind Map on Australian Parliamentary System, created by Mizzi on 09/23/2013.

Resource summary

Australian Parliamentary System
1 Westminster System
1.1 British system of parliament
1.1.1 Bicameral Upper House Lower house Crown
1.1.2 Constitutional monarchy Parliament has supreme law making power
1.2 Federation
1.2.1 Constitution formed- The Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1900 (UK) January 1st 1901
1.2.2 Union of separate colonies with one cenral government
2 Federal/Commonwealth Parliament
2.1 Crown - Queen represented by the Governor General
2.1.1 Gives royal assent (signing off of the bill)
2.1.2 s.58 can withhold a bill and return to Parliament
2.1.3 s.57 can open, close and disolve parliament
2.2 Upper house: Senate; acts of a house of review; 76 represenatives; 12 each state and two from each territory; proportional represenation; 6 years;
2.3 Lower house: House of Representatives; 150 representatives; proportional representation (90K);3 year term; This is where government is formed; Cabinet (government Ministers in charge of ministeries) also come from here; most bills originate from the lower house
3 Government
3.1 Party in the lower house which holds the majority of seats
4 State Parliament
4.1 Upper house - Legislative Council; 40 reps; proportional; 5 from 8 electoral regions (5 melb, 3 reg); No money bills; house of review
4.2 Lower house - Legislative Assembly; 88 reps; preferential; government formed by party with the most seats;
4.3 Crown - Governor; give royal assent; but can't withold as GG can
5 Difference between State and Federal - Cabinet in state can be made of ministers from either house; GG can withold assent whereas G in state cannot
6 Principles
6.1 Representative
6.1.1 elected represent our views and values in parliament In voting for an individual also vote for policies of the party they belong to Government formed from majority party
6.2 Responsible
6.2.1 Accountable; they can be voted out.
6.2.2 Must be honest; if not asked to resign
6.2.3 Ministers also responsible to their departments; and thus any errors made in their department
6.2.4 Responsible to parliament
6.3 Separation of powers
6.3.1 Legislative Arm Parliament; s.1 structure of parliament and makes law
6.3.2 Executive Arm Monarch (Crown) and Minsiters; including Prime Minister (FED) and Premier (State)
6.3.3 Judicial Arm Judges
6.3.4 Doctrine of Sep of Powers check; avoids abuse of power from any arm s.61 executive power is excerised by Queen through GG; without it parliament can't pass a law s.62 council of minsiters to advise GG; ministers (fed) come from the Legislative arm and therefore are a check on the executive s.64 Ministers must be members of parl (leg arm) and hence a legislative and executive role although executive is admin of laws made, these must be tabled in parlaiment as they have ultimate power to accept or reject ministers individually respond to parliament and answer questions about their actions s.58 GG can withold assent and return to parliament for review independent; judicary to ensure that the legislative and executive are acting within the limits of the constitution
6.4 Structure (taken care of!)
Show full summary Hide full summary


Basic Legal Concepts
Core Crime - legislation
Elise Jenkins
Division of Law-Making Powers
Legal Term 1
Pre-trial procedure
How State Powers are Preserved
Crime and principles of criminal liability
[Legal Studies] Outcome #1 - Revision Cue Cards (2018)
Jarrod Foreman
Nature of Crime Quiz
Functions of the G-G
UN Subsidiaries
Rory Coverdale