Shinto's Main Principle

Mind Map by tingtinglyy, updated more than 1 year ago
Created by tingtinglyy about 6 years ago


Mind Map on Shinto's Main Principle, created by tingtinglyy on 02/04/2014.

Resource summary

Shinto's Main Principle
1 Buddhism Ethics
1.1 The four noble truths
1.1.1 1. Truth of Suffering - Dukka First thee suffering: old age, sickness and death Even when we are not suffering from outward causes like illness or bereavement, we are unfulfilled, unsatisfied. This is the truth of suffering.
1.1.2 2. The Truth of The Origin of Suffering - Samudāya The Buddha taught that the root of all suffering is desire, tanhā. This comes in three forms, which he described as the Three Roots of Evil, or the Three Fires, or the Three Poisons. The Three Roots of Evil : Greed and desire, represented in art by a rooster Ignorance or delusion, represented by a pig Hatred and destructive urges, represented by a snake. The Fire Sermon : The Buddha went on to say the same of the other four senses, and the mind, showing that attachment to positive, negative and neutral sensations and thoughts is the cause of suffering.
1.1.3 3. The truth of the cessation of suffering (Nirodha) The Three Poisons : The Buddha taught that the way to extinguish desire, which causes suffering, is to liberate oneself from attachment. reaching enlightenment (nirvana) means extinguishing the three fires of greed, delusion and hatred. Someone who reaches nirvana does not immediately disappear to a heavenly realm. Nirvana is better understood as a state of mind that humans can reach. It is a state of profound spiritual joy, without negative emotions and fears. Someone who has attained enlightenment is filled with compassion for all living things.
1.1.4 4. The truth of the path to the cessation of suffering (Magga) The Eightfold Path is also called the Middle Way: it avoids both indulgence and severe asceticism 1. Right Understanding - accepting Buddah's teachings (The Buddha did not intend his followers to follow his teaching blindly but to judge whether they are true for themselves.) 2. Right Intention - committing actions with the right attitude 3. Right Speech - Speaking the truth, avoiding slander , gossip and abusive speech 4. Right Action - Behaving peacefully and harmoniously; refraining from stealing, killing and overindulgence in sensual pleasure. 5. Right livelihood - Avoiding making a living in ways that cause harm, such as exploiting people or killing animals, or trading in intoxicants or weapons. 6. Right Effort - Having a positive state of mind, freeing oneself from evil and preventing it from them form arising in the future. 7. Right Mindfulness - being aware of the body, feelings, sensation and state of mind. 8. Right Concentration - developing mental focus necessary for awareness
2 Shinto Ethics
2.1 No absolute rules but focuses on avoiding bad, human beings are good, and that the world is good. Evil enters the world from outside, brought by evil spirits. When human beings act wrongly, they bring pollution and sin upon themselves, which obstructs the flow of life and blessing from the kami.
2.1.1 Things associated as bad things which disturb kami things which disturb the worship of kami things which disrupt the harmony of the world things which disrupt the natural world things which disrupt the social order Things which disrupt the group of which one is a member
2.2 Organ donation
2.2.1 Shinto traditions also state that interfering with a corpse brings bad luck. Families believe that it may injure the relationship between the dead person and the bereaved
2.3 Abortion
Show full summary Hide full summary


Quiz Geral
Food Technology - Functions of ingredients
Business Studies Unit 1
Flashcards de Inglês - Vocabulário Intermédio
GCSE French - Parts of the Body
Abby B
Edexcel Additional Science Biology Topic 1
Contract Law
GCSE AQA Physics 1 Energy & Efficiency
Lilac Potato
Specific topic 7.6 Timber (processes)
T Andrews
General Pathoanatomy Final MCQs (1-110)- 3rd Year- PMU
Med Student