Flashcards by sashaisaac, updated more than 1 year ago
Created by sashaisaac about 8 years ago


Psychology Flashcards on Neo-psychoanalytical, created by sashaisaac on 06/04/2013.

Resource summary

Question Answer
Stage 5: Identity vs. Role Confusion (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 12-18 years Teens need to develop a sense of self and personal identity. Success leads to an ability to stay true to yourself, while failure leads to role confusion and a weak sense of self. Occurs during important event of the formation of relationships
Stage 6: Intimacy vs. Isolation (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 19-40 years Young adults need to form intimate, loving relationships with other people. Success leads to strong relationships, while failure results in loneliness and isolation. important event: relationships
Stage 7:Generativity vs. Stagnation (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 40-65 years Adults need to create or nurture things that will outlast them, often by having children or creating a positive change that benefits other people. Success leads to feelings of usefulness and accomplishment, while failure results in shallow involvement in the world. important events: work and parenthood
Stage 8: Ego Integrity vs. Despair (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 65-death Older adults need to look back on life and feel a sense of fulfillment. Success at this stage leads to feelings of wisdom, while failure results in regret, bitterness, and despair. important event: reflection on life
Stage 2: Autonomoy vs. Shame and doubt (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 2-3 years Children need to develop a sense of personal control over physical skills and a sense of independence. Success leads to feelings of autonomy, failure results in feelings of shame and doubt. Occurs during important event of toilet training
Stage 3: Initiative vs. guilt (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 3-5 years Children need to begin asserting control and power over the environment. Success in this stage leads to a sense of purpose. Children who try to exert too much power experience disapproval, resulting in a sense of guilt. Occurs during the time wherein children are exploring
Stage 4: Industry vs. inferiority (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 6-11 years Children need to cope with new social and academic demands. Success leads to a sense of competence, while failure results in feelings of inferiority. occurs during the time children start going to school
Karen Horney Neo-psychoanalystical Rather than sexuality, personality development is relationship with others Focussed on neuroticism and neurotic needs to be wanted, helped, accepted - moving 1) towards 2) against 3) away from Social and cultural factors affect personality
Horney's Neurotic Needs Moving towards people - recognising others as sources of support, affection, approval, etc Moving against people - trying to control others, reduce their representation of normality (all while seeking help from them) Moving away from people - avoiding or staying away from others for fear of criticism and/or harm
Alfred Adler Neo-psychoanalytical Believed that personality did not consist of competing and conflicting sources (suggested by Freud) Saw the importance of individual differences and social context Investigated the influence of birth order on personality
Jung Neo-psychoanalytical Suggested that the psyche is comprised of 3 components: ego, personal unconcious and collective unconcious Disagreed with Frued about the role of sexuality First introduced concept of Introvert and Extrovert Yin-Yang concepts (Sensing-Intuition, Extrovert-Introvert, etc.) --> strongly influenced Myers-Briggs personality test
Jung's 3 Components of the Psyche 1. Concious mind - represented by the ego 2. Personal unconcious - contains memories (including those that have been surpressed) 3. Collective unconcious - Believed to serve as a form of psychological inheritance --> contains all the knowledge and experiences shared as a species
Erik Erikson Neo-Psychoanalytical Personality develops throughout life 8 stages of development Shifted the emphasis Freud placed on the ID and EGO (bio & instincts) to the conscious and rational
Archetypes Developed by Jung Suggested that these models are innate, universal and inherited Archetypes are unlearned and serve to organise how we experience certain things
Erikson's 8 stages of development 1. Trust Vs. Mistrust 2. Autonomy vs. shame and doubt 3. Initiative vs. guilt 4. Industry vs. Inferiority 5. Identity vs. role confusion 6. Intimacy vs. isolation 7. generativity vs. stagnation 8. ego integrity vs. despair
Stage 1: Trust vs. Mistrust (Erikson's 8 stages of dev.) 0-18 months Children develop a sense of trust when caregivers can be seen as a source of reliability, care and affection. A lack of this will lead to mistrust. Occurs during the important even of feeding
Show full summary Hide full summary


History of Psychology
Biological Psychology - Stress
Gurdev Manchanda
Psychology A1
Ellie Hughes
Psychology subject map
Jake Pickup
Memory Key words
Sammy :P
Psychology | Unit 4 | Addiction - Explanations
Bowlby's Theory of Attachment
Jessica Phillips
The Biological Approach to Psychology
Gabby Wood
Cognitive Psychology - Capacity and encoding
Chapter 5: Short-term and Working Memory
Psychology and the MCAT
Sarah Egan