1.2 Stalin's rise to power

Flashcards by samstevenson2014, updated more than 1 year ago
Created by samstevenson2014 about 6 years ago


Leaving Cert History (Dictatorship and Democracy Flashcards) Flashcards on 1.2 Stalin's rise to power, created by samstevenson2014 on 03/25/2015.

Resource summary

Question Answer
What year did Lenin die? 1924
Who were the 5 main members of the Politburo? Stalin, Zinoviev, Kamenev, Bakunin, Trotsky
Who controlled the Red Army? Trotsky
Who was the Party Secretary? Stalin
Who spoke at Lenin's funeral? Stalin
How did Stalin outmanoeuvre his opponents? He used debates about the future of communism
What was the first debate about? How to protect communism
What was Trotsky's argument? Russian communism was not safe until other countries became communist
What did Trotsky want to do? "Export" a "permanent revolution" to other countries
What was Stalin's argument? That they should build up Russian communism first
Who's view was more popular? Stalin's
What did Party Congress do in 1925? Party Congress adopted Stalin's approach and removed Trotsky from army command
What was the second debate on? Economic policy
What did NEP do? It mixed capitalism with communism
Who wanted this? Bakunin ad Stalin (because it was popular)
Who wanted to end it? Zinoviev and Kamenev
What happened in 1927? Kamenev and Zinoviev joined Trotsky in planning a revolt against Stalin
When Stalin found out, where was Trotsky sent? Siberia
What did Stalin do with his policy then? Immediately dropped NEP and went for full communism
Who else was expelled? Kinoviev, Kamenev and Bakunin
Show full summary Hide full summary


GCSE History – Social Impact of the Nazi State in 1945
Ben C
History of Medicine: Ancient Ideas
James McConnell
Weimar Revision
Tom Mitchell
Conferences of the Cold War
Alina A
Using GoConqr to study History
Sarah Egan
Hitler and the Nazi Party (1919-23)
Adam Collinge
The Berlin Crisis
Alina A
Bay of Pigs Invasion : April 1961
Alina A
Germany 1918-39
Cam Burke
History- Medicine through time key figures
The Weimar Republic, 1919-1929