Administrative Regions: Ireland

Note by helicon, updated more than 1 year ago
Created by helicon almost 7 years ago


Brief notes on how Ireland administers itself on various levels and how the EU administers Ireland

Resource summary

Page 1

Administrative regions are areas controlled by local or central government agencies

Ireland is administered on three government levels

Starting with the smallest type of administration there are: Town Councils County Councils National Government

Town Councils

These have a very local role.There are 80 town councilsThey deal with local issues such as roads, education, water, lights and sewage

County and City Councils

There are 24 county councils and 5 city councilsTipperary has 2 county councilsDublin has 3 county councils and 1 city councilThe other city councils are Cork, Galway, Limerick and WaterfordEach county council produces a county Development Plan They deal with county wide issues such as planning, waste & water, and motor taxation

National Government

They set national policies which the other two administrative groups set in placeThe main policy is the National Development PlainThis originated between 2000 and 2006 - Phase 12007-2013 - Phase 290% of the funding for the National Development Plan comes from taxesFunding for the NDP has been reduced because of the economyThe NDP's 2013 targets were not met so the deadline has been extended to 2016

Ireland is also administered internationally by the European Union

Ireland is an EU member state The EU divides Ireland into two separate regions known as Regional Assemblies The EU's funding comes from taxes from each member state The level of funding given to each member is determined by their economic circumstances and population The funding is shared between each state depending on their individual needs In Ireland the EU recognizes two regional assemblies - The SE and BMW SE: Southern and Eastern region - richer, more developed, receives less funding BMW: Borders, Midlands and West region - underdeveloped, receives more funding  These two assemblies have three functions To encourage the co-ordination of the provisions of public services in their area To manage new regional projects such as infrastructure supply and social development schemes To monitor the implementation of all EU funding

New Page

Show full summary Hide full summary


The Rock Cycle
Plate Tectonics
Using GoConqr to study geography
Sarah Egan
Geography Quiz
Geography Coastal Zones Flashcards
Zakiya Tabassum
All the Countries of the World and their Capital Cities
River Processes and Landforms
GCSE Geography - Causes of Climate Change
Beth Coiley
Tectonic Hazards flashcards
The Lymphatic System
james liew