King David

Melissa Perry
Mind Map by Melissa Perry, updated more than 1 year ago
Melissa Perry
Created by Melissa Perry about 4 years ago


A mindmap of the leadership characteristics of King David. 2 Samuel 1-14

Resource summary

King David
1 Level 1: mourned the death of Saul
1.1 Level 2: "Model the way" - showed respect for Saul, even though he was a bad leader
1.2 Level 2: "Encourage the heart" - showed appreciation for Saul's individual achievements and respect toward God's choice for Saul as a leader
2 Level 1: sought advice from the Lord and others (Nathan)
2.1 Level 2: Getting feedback
2.2 Level 2: "Enlisting Others" by heeding their advice instead of relying on his own understanding
2.3 Level 2: learning from others by listening to instruction and wisdom
3 Level 1: mourned the death of Abner--a death he was not responsible for--by refusing to eat anything
3.1 Showed empathy and remorse
3.2 The people were convinced that he did not kill Abner
3.2.1 Level 2: Integrity and Righteousness
4 Level 1: whatever he did pleased the people
4.1 Level 2: "Inspire Others" by building trust and facilitating relationships. He established credibility with the people by being honest and trustworthy.
5 Level 1: led corporate worship when the Ark of the Covenant came to the City of David
5.1 Level 2: "Inspire others" to worship God
5.2 Level 2: "Enable others to act" - by encouraging the free worship of God
5.3 Level 2: "Model the way" - Michal did not see the meaning behind David's worship of God and ridicules him. Instead, David says that he will continue to worship God in spite of what people think.
6 Level 1: Praised God after victories and being prophesied over by Nathan
6.1 Level 2: "Encourage the heart" - David appreciated and acknowledged the work that God had done
7 Level 1: acknowledged the kindness of others and tried to repay them
7.1 Level 2: "Encourage the heart" by recognizing the contributions of others.
8 Level 1: sought to please the Lord
8.1 Level 2: "Clarify values" - God's commands were King David's values.
9 Level 1: planned to build a temple for the Lord to dwell in
9.1 Level 2: "forward-looking" by establishing a place of worship for all generations
9.2 Level 2: Inspired a shared vision by desiring to build a house for the God his nation worshiped.
9.3 Level 2: "Challenge the process" - God's presence (the Ark of the Covenant) had always been in tents and carried along wherever the children of Israel traveled. David challenged past practices by choosing to move the ark of the covenant to a permanent place.
10 Level 1: blessed the people
10.1 Level 2: "Encourage others" by speaking well of them and proclaiming God's favor on them.
11 Level 1: took care of Mephibosheth, Saul's son
11.1 Level 2: "Enable others to act" by showing love and appreciation for Jonathan's son. He included him as a part of his own family, when there was literally no place for him and his family anymore.
12 Level 1: able to discern good and evil when the woman of Tekoah came to see him.
12.1 Level 2: "Model the way" by having wisdom
12.2 Level 2: overcoming potential conflict by seeing the big picture.
13 Level 1: Killed the people who took pleasure in taking another's life, such as the Amalekite who killed Saul and Rechab and Baanah who killed Ish-bosheth, Saul's son.
13.1 Level 2: Clarified his own values and set an example that such behavior is inexcusable. Showed impartiality.
Show full summary Hide full summary


Leadership Development
no no
Motivation & Leadership
Jade Jannotti
nurul atira
Leadership Theories
What makes an effective team leader
Leadership vs. Management
Fahima Noori
Leadership Types
Kate O'Connor
Workbook 1: Leadership in Public Services
Transformational Leadership and Charisma
Change Management
Katherine Stmart
Contingency Theories of Leadership